Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: S/r ECM cwq3

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    17
    Points
    9,442
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    9,442
    Donate  

    Default S/r ECM cwq3

    I just picked up an ECM off of an s/r and I got a 6 wire maf already is there anything else I need to run it in my regular zx2

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    las vegas, so cal
    Posts
    21,257
    Points
    396,671
    Bank
    69,485,904
    Total Points
    69,882,575
    Donate  
    for the superman of the zx2 savers - daggit2005 Henry Ford < Dareall - SR2000 For the entertaining builds...constantly :-) - CJW For being a great member and friend to many. - CJW you sir are awarded the medal of awsome - daggit2005 
    Scammer Slaughering Medal of Honor - Hardline this is for the candy ive got from you with my purchases the past few years. - blue99fordzx2 For moving/locking my post when asked :) - blue99fordzx2 Thx for helping me get my car put back together. - X-Lr8 It's lunch time here. lolz - rascal 
    For dealing with dumbass n00bs. - RASCAL How much for the trim piece? LOL - RASCAL Absolute hero. I cannot imagine how helpful and kind a person Dareall is.  THANK YOU. - SoCalZx2Rob For doing my part out and finally getting the parts sold.  I owe it all to you.  Thanks Dareall.  I'll never forget it.  Thank god it's finally done.  XD - SoCalZx2Rob 

    Default

    there is more to it than that depending on year of car
    We're gonna ride the race cars
    We're gonna dance on fire

    Best sale thread ever !!

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    152
    Points
    5,465
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    5,465
    Donate  

    Default

    Did your car come stock with a 6 wire MAF? If so it should be plug and play. There were a bunch of wiring changes that occurred in mid 1999 models that included changing the MAF to incorporate the intake air temperature sensor rather than having the IAT discrete and plugged into the side of the intake tube. A 6 wire MAF is just an indicator that you have a late model wiring harness. A 6 wire MAF is not required to run a later PCM, but you DO need a later model ccrm and some rewiring of your A/C circuits to use a late model PCM in an early model (98- early 99) car. All S/R PCMs used the later wiring harness.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Knoxvegas, TN
    Posts
    10,125
    Points
    81,746
    Bank
    222,637,895
    Total Points
    222,719,641
    Donate  
    Hope you enjoyed the "dragon" - zx2loon Me wubbz joo too!! - zx2loon Congrats bro!! - rascal get 'em done - GoT MiLF? Unicorn hood ornament! lol - rascal 
    Thanks for the rubber superman! wait... - Gitt24_84 For those rare times when you don't have sand in the vag... - Big Mizz 

    Default

    Is your regular ZX2 MTX?
    2000 Black S/R (RIP), Iceman/CF hood/PnP ATX TB/K&N/MSD/PowderUDP-ODP/Esslinger cam gears/PS STS/SPI MTX/Fidanza/Stage2/Kamikaze/2.25"cat-less/Magnaflow/SCT(Pwned by Vit)/STB/21mmRSB/KYB/GC/Drag DR23
    Quote Originally Posted by mellowness65 View Post
    EXACTLY At night we could chant and sing in a circle around Doug's S/R and any others that may be there and burn a Cavalier as an offering to them
    Quote Originally Posted by Gitt24_84 View Post
    Nevermind, I'm fucking retarded
    Quote Originally Posted by ChillinZX View Post
    If you're talking about the slave cylinder "cock", you can play with that thing all day long and it will not get stiff.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    152
    Points
    5,465
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    5,465
    Donate  

    Default

    Forgot about that, all my cars are MTX (Except my van). ZX2 PCMs are transmission specific, so yours needs to be MTX for a S/R PCM to work.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    17
    Points
    9,442
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    9,442
    Donate  

    Default

    Yea 99 mtx stock 6 wire maf I appreciate the info

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    503
    Points
    86,269
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    86,269
    Donate  

    Default

    The intake needs to be opened up to fully take advantage of the tuning in the S/R ecu. Either get an iceman, or replace the upper resonator with some steel pipe. Look up the keman mod. The S/R airbox had a bigger opening going into the fender, this is where the 4-3" drainppipe adapter comes in.
    2000 ZX2 MTX. Kemanized intake. Ebay strut tower brace. CWQ3 S/R ECU. 19mm rear sway bar. Meh.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    308
    Points
    34,055
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    34,055
    Donate  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by economichitman View Post
    The S/R airbox had a bigger opening going into the fender, this is where the 4-3" drainppipe adapter comes in.
    S/R airbox that you mentioned:



    Since I haven't seen an S/R in any of the yards in my area I did my own version of it. Worked pretty good!



    John

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    las vegas, so cal
    Posts
    21,257
    Points
    396,671
    Bank
    69,485,904
    Total Points
    69,882,575
    Donate  
    for the superman of the zx2 savers - daggit2005 Henry Ford < Dareall - SR2000 For the entertaining builds...constantly :-) - CJW For being a great member and friend to many. - CJW you sir are awarded the medal of awsome - daggit2005 
    Scammer Slaughering Medal of Honor - Hardline this is for the candy ive got from you with my purchases the past few years. - blue99fordzx2 For moving/locking my post when asked :) - blue99fordzx2 Thx for helping me get my car put back together. - X-Lr8 It's lunch time here. lolz - rascal 
    For dealing with dumbass n00bs. - RASCAL How much for the trim piece? LOL - RASCAL Absolute hero. I cannot imagine how helpful and kind a person Dareall is.  THANK YOU. - SoCalZx2Rob For doing my part out and finally getting the parts sold.  I owe it all to you.  Thanks Dareall.  I'll never forget it.  Thank god it's finally done.  XD - SoCalZx2Rob 

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Novanutcase View Post
    S/R airbox that you mentioned:



    Since I haven't seen an S/R in any of the yards in my area I did my own version of it. Worked pretty good!



    John
    he mentioned this but he is wrong. that intake was only installed on the 99 s/r. I know this because that is my picture of the intake from my 99 s/r you quoted . The 2000 s/r does not have this

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    308
    Points
    34,055
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    34,055
    Donate  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dareall View Post
    he mentioned this but he is wrong. that intake was only installed on the 99 s/r. I know this because that is my picture of the intake from my 99 s/r you quoted . The 2000 s/r does not have this
    Thanks for the clarification. I remembered it was a one year only part but I didn't remember which. BTW do you have any extras laying around?

    John

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •